Forth Bridges at Sunset

The Scottish Engineering Hall of Fame

The Scottish Engineering Hall of Fame celebrates and honours those engineers from, or closely associated with, Scotland who have achieved, or deserve to achieve, greatness.

The genius and skills of many engineers from or associated with Scotland have contributed hugely to the wellbeing of the world today, in all fields of engineering. This site will give you some insights into these outstanding individuals.

Five inductees were announced at the James Watt Dinner on Friday 6th October 2023:

  • William Symington
  • David Kirkaldy
  • Sir Alexander Gibb
  • Sir Nigel Gresley
  • Carol Marsh

Featured Quote

L Clow

Recently unveiled - a Blue Plaque celebrating the former home of Professor William John MacQuorn Rankine.

A small group of IES members attended an unveiling ceremony at the Clubhouse of Haggs Castle Golf in Glasgow, which is built around the former home of Prof Rankine and his parents.

L Clow

Message from Fergus Ewing MSP at the launch of the Scottish Engineering Hall of Fame in 2011

Fergus Ewing MSP

“Scotland has a long and proud tradition of science and engineering excellence. I am pleased to offer my personal support in your efforts to inspire the next generation of young people to consider engineering as a credible and valuable career choice. While it is important to celebrate the great achievements made by Scottish engineers in the past, it is also vital that the contribution of those working today at the forefront of engineering is also recognised.

Improving science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) education, in line with Curriculum for Excellence, is a key priority for the Scottish Government. Through changes in learning, teaching and leadership in schools, the curriculum and other changes now being put in place will provide new and creative opportunities to make STEM education more rewarding, stimulating and attractive for all young people.”

Fergus Ewing MSP
Minister for Business, Energy and Tourism (May 2011–May 2016)

Cite Top